Maple Blues Awards

January 18, 2016

Canada's top blues honors are announced and presented at a gala ceremony at Koerner Hall with performances by Canada's top blues artists. The awards are organized by the Toronto Blues Society to promote blues music and recognize outstanding achievement in Canadian blues.

A distinguished panel of blues industry people select nominees for the Maple Blues Awards. Fans vote for the winners in all categories, except the instrumental, from November to December 2015.

The 19th annual blues music awards is held in Toronto, Ontario, Canada

To contact or find the most up to date information on the Maple Blues Awards, visit their web pages at Website or on


2015 19th Maple Blues Awards Winners

The winners of the 19th annual Maple Blues Awards are to be announced in January 2016.

19th Maple Blues Awards Nominees

The musicians, bands, and performers nominated for the 2015 award are:

Recording of the Year

  • Faded But Not Gone (Black Hen), Big Dave McLean
  • Rich In Love (Stony PLain), Colin Linden
  • This is From Here (Electro-Fi), Harrison Kennedy
  • Chin Up (Nood), John Campbelljohn
  • Send the Nightingale (Rench), Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar

Entertainer of the Year

  • The 24th Street Wailers
  • David Gogo
  • MonkeyJunk
  • Steve Hill
  • Harrison Kennedy

B.B. King International Artist of the Year

  • Buddy Guy
  • Elvin Bishop
  • Eric Bibb
  • Sugaray Rayford
  • Mavis Staples

New Artist or Group of the Year

  • Cécile Doo-Kingué
  • Jenie Thai
  • The Kirby Sewell Band
  • Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar
  • Sugar Brown

Acoustic Act of the Year

  • Big Dave McLean
  • Cécile Doo-Kingué
  • Harrison Kennedy
  • Michael Jerome Browne
  • Ross Neilsen

Electric Act of the Year

  • The 24th Street Wailers
  • Anthony Gomes
  • David Gogo
  • MonkeyJunk
  • Steve Hill

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Harrison Kennedy
  • John Mays
  • Jon Knight (Soulstack)
  • Kirby Sewell
  • Matt Andersen

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Angel Forrest
  • Cécile Doo-Kingué
  • Cheryl Lescom
  • Samantha Martin
  • Shakura S'Aida

Songwriter of the Year

  • Big Dave McLean
  • Colin Linden
  • Harrison Kennedy
  • John Campbelljohn
  • Samantha Martin

Guitar Player of the Year

  • Brandon Isaak
  • David Gogo
  • John Campbelljohn
  • Michael Jerome Browne
  • Steve Hill

Harmonica Player of the Year

  • Guy Bélanger
  • Harpdog Brown
  • Jerome Godboo
  • Roly Platt
  • Steve Marriner (MonkeyJunk)

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year

  • David Vest
  • Duane Blackburn (Blackburn)
  • Jesse O'Brien (Colin James, Harrison Kennedy)
  • Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
  • Mark Wessenger (Soulstack)

Horn Player of the Year

  • Al Lerman (Fathead)
  • Chris Whiteley (Diana Braithwaite & Chris Whiteley)
  • Frank Thiffault (Ben Racine Band)
  • Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
  • Richard Thornton (Jack de Keyzer)

Drummer of the Year

  • Chris Nordquist (Cannery Row)
  • Dave King (Steve Strongman)
  • Lindsay Beaver (The 24th Street Wailers)
  • Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk)
  • Tom Bona (Soulstack, Raoul & The Big Time)

Bassist of the Year

  • Alan Duffy (Jack de Keyzer)
  • Alec Fraser (Rick Fines, Fraser/Daley)
  • Keith Picot (Twisters, Brandon Isaak)
  • Leigh-Anne Stanton (Wicked Grin)
  • Owen Owen Owen (Dalannah & Owen)

Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement)

  • Diana Braithwaite
  • Alec Fraser
  • Danny Brooks
  • Ellen McIlwaine
  • Joe Murphy
  • Ken Whiteley
  • Michael Fonfara
  • Stephen Barry
  • Tom Lavin
  • Michael Jerome Browne
  • Brent Parkin
  • Theresa Malenfant


Please confirm ALL information with the festival itself before making plans.
These directory listings are not guaranteed to be accurate or up to date. is not responsible for changes, ommisions, or errors.